The 2016 running of the Australian Junior National Motocross Championships will go down in history as one of the most testing and trying conditions in recent history. The Riverland Motorcycle club in South Australia along with all of the attending riders had to deal with a once in 50 years storm that lashed the state, causing flash flooding and power outages state wide.


With conditions varying from dust storms to deep mud it was reigning National Junior Champion Taj Marshall who backed it up to again clinch the title for BCP Pro Circuit Honda, however this time in the older 15 years 250cc category.


Marshall on board his Eight11 built Honda CRF250R was both fast and consistent all week, winning three races and also securing two second places to dominate the class by 10 points when the final points were tallied.


“I’m so happy to be able to go back to back titles both for myself and the team,” said Taj Marshall.

“We had a really solid lead up to the event and the whole week ran like clock work. We had a system in place from last year at Bunbury and we basically just tried to replicate that. Tim Vare from Eight11 looks after the bike and my team manager/mentor Lee Hogan is basically with me the whole week. We walk the track together, go to the line together and do what needs to be done. I couldn’t have done it without my dad, all of our awesome team sponsors and my mum’s support at home.”


After struggling in final number 1 with a 10th place after coming together with another rider, New Zealander Trent Collins charged through the final two races to finish a credible fourth place in the championship.


Tom Bell strung together three solid finals to finish in 8th place overall and just two points behind 6th place.


“I’m really proud of all of our riders and their families for the effort put in both this week and the lead up,” said team manager Lee Hogan.

“I’m particularly proud of Taj’s ability to rise when the big event comes around. And to turn senior coming off the back of consecutive 250cc titles is a big thing.”

“We are also fortunate to have Tim Vare from Eight11 racing in our corner doing our bikes and being on hand at the races. All of our bikes ran superb all year and it is a credit not only to Tim but to Honda and all of our assisting sponsors that make our bikes what they are.”


Next year’s Australian Junior Motocross Championships will be held in Horsham, Victoria.


15 years 250cc National Championship


1st place- Taj Marshall BCP PRO CIRCUIT HONDA

2nd place- Riley Dukes FACTORY HUSQVARNA

3rd place- Cody Dyce YAIM YAMAHA

4th place- Trent Collins BCP PRO CIRCUIT HONDA

5th place- Jake Williams YAIM YAMAHA